Slow Progress and Time is a Gettin’ Short

06/17/2011 at 9:15 am Leave a comment

Partially framed coop“You can expect pullets (young females) to begin laying eggs at 18 to 20 weeks of age, with a production rate of up to nine eggs each in 10 days.”

I will finish this thing before the chicks start laying. The floor is in, and the front wall is partially framed. I put the window in temporarily so I could better imagine the finished product. I’ll pull it back out tomorrow to finish framing.

For the roof, I’m rethinking my green idea and am instead considering putting in a couple skylights. The extra light might help extend their laying in the winter and fall, and I if  my birds escape, freeze, or become prey for the local wildlife, I’ll just convert the coop to a writing studio and call it rock and roll.

Coming soon: finished coop pictures and a discussion of the pros and cons of the booming backyard chicken movement.

Entry filed under: Chickens, Current Events. Tags: , .

Aaaahhh!!! Itchy!! Poison Oak attacks! Going on Tour!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About this Site

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


