Aaaahhh!!! Itchy!! Poison Oak attacks!

06/13/2011 at 12:55 pm 4 comments

Until two days ago I thought I was immune to the symptoms brought about by exposure to urushiol, the oily substance that coats the leaves of poison oak. I was wrong. I have two tiny blisters on my right forearm that appeared after spending a day clearing brush for the chicken coop and running on heavily overgrown forest trails. Neither mark is larger than a couple sesame seeds clumped together but they are making me crazy!

I keep a soap specifically formulated to disperse urushiol  in the shower, and I use it when I know I’ve been exposed to poison oak, but I didn’t see the plant this time around and failed to take preventative measures. Plus, I really, really didn’t think it was an allergen for me. Maybe I’m one of those folks who become more susceptible with age and exposure.

Itchy!!! Does anyone have a good treatment?

Entry filed under: Gardening, Pests and Pest Control. Tags: , .

Working on time management Slow Progress and Time is a Gettin’ Short

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zee  |  06/13/2011 at 1:55 pm

    Lots of published material (researched-based) on control of the plant, but not a lot on control of the itch!

    Lots cite the U.S. Forest Service research on the plants. One book, A Field Guide to Poison Ivy, Poison Oak, and Poison Sumac: Prevention and Remedies (Susan Carol Hauser, William L. Epstein; 2008), says, “Blisters that cause intense itching warrant a visit to the doctor’s office.”

    Epstein, an M.D., is quoted on a lot of sites about poison oak AND has written pamphlets on same for the U.S. Forest Service. He’s quoted on this Palomar Community College site, which gives lots of info, including some remedy suggestions: http://waynesword.palomar.edu/ww0802.htm

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 3. Tamara  |  06/20/2011 at 11:09 am

    I use baking soda mixed with a little water, placed on the affected skin. I usually also take a couple anti-histamine.

    I know how crazy-making it can be–I hope your itching goes away soon!

    Reply
    • 4. smithandlever  |  06/20/2011 at 1:49 pm

      Thanks! I’ll try this next time. I seem to be cleared-up for now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About this Site

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

OSU Extension


