Chicken coop blueprints! Construction begins!

06/08/2011 at 1:08 pm 2 comments

My chickens are more than three months old. They’ve been spending significant time outside each day, and it’s time to move them into their own coop.

I’ve been going back and forth over designs, and I think I’ve settled on a simple four walled house raised about six inches off the ground with a solid wooden floor and slanting roof. In essence, I’ll be building the coop around three reclaimed wooded windows I found at the local salvage store*. Most of the remaining needed materials will be pulled from my current outdoor shower (that project will be rebuilt in a sunnier location in the next few months). Material for the roof is still up in the air, but I’m leaning toward tin, because I have some. My only hesitations have to due with concerns over heat, and the desire to put a living roof on the top of the structure.

With six laying hens, I’m planning on four nesting boxes and about five feet of total perch/roosting space. This is pretty inline with the recommendations from Virginia Tech’s Cooperative Extension publication on small scale poultry housing. Construction begins this afternoon and I’ll be back tomorrow with an update and pictures!

* Old windows may be painted with lead based paint. If your birds have access to the paint chippings you could wind up with lead laced eggs. That’s not good. This OSU Extension publication has more information about the impact and vectors of lead in the landscape and garden.

Entry filed under: Chickens, Gardening.

Guest Post: Tiny invader a cause for big concern Working on time management

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About this Site

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


